Attentive, Aggressive, and Affordable Representation

Phone

703.847.3670

Virginia Divorce

A divorce may be either fault or no-fault based. The fault based divorce must lay on legally recognized grounds, such as desertion, conviction of a felony, and adultery. A no-fault divorce only requires the passage of time.

Uncontested Divorce

All uncontested divorces are no-fault. In Virginia, a no-fault divorce proceeding may be initiated after 6 months of uninterrupted separation if there are no children born or adopted of the marriage under the age of 18 AND there are no property or support issues. If there are children born or adopted of the marriage under the age of 18, then the period of uninterrupted separation must be at least one year AND there are no custody, property, or support issues. This is accomplished through an agreement with your spouse, commonly referred to as a “Marital Separation Agreement” or “Property Settlement Agreement.”

Although both sides might be hostile in the beginning, an attorney could thoroughly explain the process and help alleviate the tension. One must remember to suppress emotions and think logically. It is very important to remember that an attorney could only represent one party. It is also very important to remember that uncontested divorces cost a fraction of the price of divorces that are contested. This is because the time the attorney has to spend on the case is foreseeable and we are able to quote you a flat fee.

In contrast, the time spent on a contested divorce is not foreseeable and we would have to bill you hourly. Needless to say, if one party is not willing to negotiate fair terms, then it is in the client’s best interest to contest the matter to achieve more favorable results.

Paragon Law Firm not only guides you step-by-step throughout the process, but also fights hard to negotiate the most favorable terms for their client. You will be in direct contact with the lead attorney throughout the process. We understand that this process is new to most clients and tailor each relationship to match the individual.

We offer a free 30 minute initial consultation, in person or by phone, to discuss your options. We are so confident, that we encourage you to seek other opinions before you engage our services. To schedule your free initial consultation, please click here or call 703.847.3670.

[toggle title=”Frequently asked Divorce Questions“]

My spouse has retained an attorney and wants me to sign the property settlement agreement, do I need to hire an attorney?
Absolutely. Even though your spouse’s attorney may have been given permission by your spouse to speak to you, he still represents your spouse’s best interest.

We do not have any assets nor children, do we still need a Property Separation Agreement?
Yes, a PSA is necessary in order to be eligible for a divorce based only 6 months of separation.

I do not know where my spouse lives, can I still get a divorce?
If after diligently searching for your spouse, you cannot find him/her, then service can be accomplished by publication.

Do I have to be a resident of Virginia to file for divorce here?
Yes, you or your spouse must be domiciled in Virginia for at least 6 months before filing for a divorce.[/toggle]